Looking to build a server for my company. I have an amd cpu, phenom 2 x4 i believe, tower, could pull up specs later when i am near the computer. Want to install a linux server os on it, prob. ubuntu because I am new to linux. The server will host my companies website and a database that will be accessed by 2 - 10 users. Will I be able to get by with this old tower, or do I need to look into getting a "server" to accomplish what i want to do? Also, would I need to purchase anything extra to set up a raid, or should be able to do that since I currently can and what RAID should I be using?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

First, if you are 'new' to linux, do you really think your company wants you to learn linux on its production website and database? No, I don't think so.

RAID is important for most physical servers, 3 disk RAID 5 is pretty standard but raid1,6,10 are also viable options depending on what the server will be doing and how the database will be used. Way to many details to go into on a single post.

My opinion? Install CentOS 6 (a clone of Red Hat Enterprise Linux, but without license/support fees). RAID? Optional, but more reliable than LVM. I'd recommend a 4 disc RAID 5 array with hot-swap capabilities. That way, when one disc goes south for the winter (a technical term for failure), it will continue to operate until you replace the drive, and then rebuild the drive automatically, returning you to full operation without much effort on your part, other than swapping out the failed drive.

The others have hopefully answered some of your questions, but just to throw in my two pence.

An AMD Phenom processor should be more than capable of supporting 2-10 users, even if they are concurrant. (However it all really depends on what your server is used for, as you mentioned a DB then what is your RAM like?)