:mad: I've had lots of experience with computers with scomputers and know how to work with them well, but i never worked with SATA hard drive and SATA adapters. When i connect my new SATA ULTRA 16 300GB 16MB CACHE 7200RMP Serial ATA/150 to a SATA to IDE Adapter and i try to install Windows XP Professional, i get the following message.:mad:

Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer.
Make sure any hard disk drives are powered on and properly connected to your computer, and that any disk-related hardware configuration is correct. This may involve running a manufacturer-supplied diagnostic or setup program.
Setup cannot continue. To quit setup, press F3.

:sad: My new hard drive says it has a RAID ready. How do i solve the problem, and how do i get a Manufacturer-supplied Diagnostic or setup program? HELP PLEASE:sad:

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Windows doesn't recognize your SATA card, so you'll need to load the card's drivers (probably from floppy) at the appropriate point in the Windows installation procedure.

If you give us the exact make and model # of the SATA controller card we can probably give you more specific instructions.

I bought this item on ebay, so i only got one paper, this is all i know, i found this number, dont know what it is though: CK-0001B/C. Features:Flexible with Serial ATA Generation 1, Standard 40 pin ATA port after transforming can connect, Serial ATA (IDE) equipment, Supports Serial ATA data transfer rates up to 150MN/sec.
System Requirements:Microsoft windows 98SE, windows me, windows 2000, and windows xp, can use PATA port.
Specification:ULI M5285 Parrallel ATA-Serial ATA controller, Support Serial ATA Generation 1, transmission rate 1.5Gb/s, Accord Serial ATA 1.0 standard, Receiver support spread spectrum, Accord ATA standard, Compliant with Ultra ATA 133, Types of prts: one S-ATA, one P-AYA, and 4-pin power port.