I'm still a newbie, so please bear with me. I have an HP Pavilion xL946 with an AMD Athlon 1.1 GHz 200 FSB base processor. Yes, it's old, but it still works just fine, and is enough for what I need right now. (Not to mention that a new computer won't be in the cards for some time to come!)

BUT, the CPU fan is dying. (Maybe it's just off-balance, but it's still shutting down intermittantly.) I've spent time online with HP, and was told it's "obsolete," so they can't help with any replacement parts. Even two of their ASPs (Authorized Service Providers) have told me that they can't get a replacement.

I've done a little research, and know that the fan is a "Socket A type." When I look at suppliers' websites, though, they often list measurements, too. What I don't understand is that the one I've removed from the tower measures 7mm square and is 2.5mm thick. Any that I've found online list much larger measurements. Even on the diagonal, this one is only 8mm.

I'd really appreciate it if someone could explain to me:

1. How to measure this fan correctly so that I order the right size replacement.

2. If there's anything else I need to know before I order so that the fan will work with the heatsink that I already have, OR

3. Whether or not I should be looking at the heatsink/fan packages. (I don't have a clue how to remove the heatsink from the motherboard, either.)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.:lol:

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

1. If your computer was good yesterday, why should it be bad today? :cheesy:

2. Installing a complete new heatsink/fan system can be tricky, so I recommend

3. Buy a new 70mm fan, like these http://www.hardwarecooling.com/default.php/cat/48_79/70mm_Fan and mount it on the old heatsink. (good chance to clean it a bit) Check if your old fan has 2 or 3 wires and replace accordingly.

Be careful with your old fan now. Your old "Thunderbird" Athlon is a pretty hot one and can be fried easily without sufficient cooling.