Good Day DaniWeb Users,

I'm having hard time to mount my 3 TB External Hard Drive/Disk

I do mount my external hd using this command..

sudo mount /dev/sdc1 /media/Archive/

I do

df -lh

and seen my mounted device.

Here is my Problem:

1. When I enter fdisk -l ~ I saw a warning:

WARNING: The size of this disk is 3.0 TB (3000558944256 bytes).
DOS partition table format can not be used on drives for volumes
larger than 2.2 TB (2199023255040 bytes). Use parted(1) and GUID
partition table format (GPT).

what would be the problem? I do format it in a Windows Machine using Partition Wizard. and set it FAT32 since the Red Hat Machine can't find NTFS format. (That is my conclusion since my USB is Fat32 format and no problem at all)

1. Suddenly a Power Shut off happen then the system is down. What happen to my mounted External? Is there any solution to remain my mounted external?

2. Am I right with my code earlier? I'm not really good at linux.

3. My machine is Ubuntu and the one need to be mount is a Red Hat. I just used ssh command. Does it affect in mounting?

4. I have an existing folder name "Archive" which is not empty it has files inside. When I mount the external to this folder what will happen?

Thank you and Sorry for my bad english.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Standard boot/partition sectors (old style DOS ones) cannot handle more than 2.2TB disc sizes. As the warning states, you need to use a GPT partition table type. I don't know if Windows supports that or not. Also, RHEL systems (5.x and later) can handle NTFS file systems just fine. What version of RedHat are you using? FWIW, Windows may ignore the partition table type in this case, but I don't think you can use FAT for a 3+TB file system - NTFS will be required I think.

commented: Correct, You need a GPT +9

You need GPT and NTFS.... if it's just going to be used for Redhat, then go ext4.

To mount automatically on each boot, use /etc/fstab to mount the drive via UID.