I operate Windows XP Home Edition.
My Recyle Bin Icon is on the desktop and the folder is in My Computer. But I cannot access it.
Whenever I try to send a file to the Bin I get this message. "Cannot delete ---. The dir or file cannot be created."
This started a few days ago and I have tried various actions in "Safe Mode", several different virus scan programs. No luck.
Oh, yes. When I click on the Icon, the Bin opens but is empty. But when I go to System/Disk Cleanup, it says there is 1,953,722 Kb in the Bin but doesn't empty it!
Anybody have ideas?
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

right click the bin and tell me if you see anything odd. Look at "Max size of recycle bin" slider

Sorry- I got interrupted. Max size of recycle bin is 10% and the size of the drive is 35.7 MG

Sorry again I'm new at this: it's 35.7 GB, with 8.9 GB free.

ok, have you got antivirus software installed? If so I would recommmend a scan....if not get this (the free version):

http://free.grisoft.com/doc/1

Perform a full scan (it might take an hour or so) and let us know what happens. Good luck hope this helps. AVG is fairly simple to use and removes many viruses with little or no effort on your part so don't fret lol

I'm not doing very well - It's my first attempt at a discussion. So, my aoplogies. I did as you asuggested .. found nothing surprising .. the Bin size is 10% and the drive size is 35.7 GB .. so there should be plenty of spece.

Appreciate the recommendation .. but AVG is what I run - the free 7.5 version. I run it daily.

hmmm ok...will investigate - I will get back to you soon

hmm puzzling. I have been researching this and some people have suggested enlarging the size (&age allocation) of the recycle bin - might be worth a try. not sure if it will help though and if you try it I would recommend only to increase the allocation a small amount (upto 20%)