I'm trying to help a friend of mine recover data from a harddrive that had its partition table corrupted. I have very little experience in this field (when it happens to me, I just start over from scratch) and would like to know if any of you could recommend any software that would work well for retrieving the data. Software that could actually rebuild the partition structure would be great. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

chrisbliss18,

GETDATABACK. I've used it many times and I love it. Set up the corrupt HDD as a slave in a working computer, install, and run the utility. When finished (could be a while) the program opens a "windows explorer" like interface. DON'T CLOSE THIS WINDOW! Or you will have to re-scan.

As far as the partition table, I don't even know what that is, so I'm not much help.

J_

commented: Excellent advice +1

Thanks for the recommendation J_Search. My friend says that it is a life saver.

I suggest you use DataRecoveryWizard to recover your data.

DataRecoveryWizard is a complete range of data recovery software
for all Windows operating system platforms and supports various file
systems on various storage media. DataRecoveryWizard provides very
useful functions for data recovery: "DeleteRecovery", "FormatRecovery",
"AdvancedRecovery", "RawRecovery". This program ensures safe and
precise file recovery against numerous threats like accidental file
deletion and disk formatting and so on.

You can input “DataRecoveryWizard on Google.

chrisbliss18,

As far as the partition table, I don't even know what that is, so I'm not much help.

J_

The partition table is the different allocations on your drive. say you have an 80 gig hard drive, and you have all 80 allocated to a single windows install (it's gonna be less, there's always a small amount set aside for other things) then there will be one partition on the drive. (really two)