hi guys

i have recenlty joined this forum as i have found it to be very helpful to others and i have got a major problem myself! :eek: about 5 months ago a bought a netgear router and netgear adapter to use my windows 98 computer upstairs. i connected the router to the windows xp and the adapter to the windows 98 :cheesy: all was working for about 3 months but one night it suddenly stopped working. Now i am recieving a signal from the router to upstairs but any internet programs (msn, internet explorer,opera, firefoz etc...) all say that there is a dns error and the page cannot be displayed. i have tried doing scanreg on windows 98, reinstalled both router and adapter, moved the computer to check whether there is interferance but nothing has worked. I am not very good at computer language etc so could someone please help me on the subject in the simplest manner.:sad: does any one have any ideas on how to fix my computers internet etc :idea:

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

1. Give us the exact model #s of the router and adapter.
2. Clikc on the "Run..." option under your Start menu, type the following in the resulting "Open:" box, and then hit Enter:
winipcfg
Post the values given for:

Ip address
subnet mask
gateway IP address
dhcp server address (if any)
DNS server IPs

the models are

router: 108mbps wireless firewall router wgt624
adapter: 108mbps wileless USB 2.0 adapter wg11t

the details on the winipcfg are

host name: A1E0U5
DNS servers: 192.168.0.1
node type: Broadcast
adapter address: 00-0F-B5-95-F5-05
IP address: 192.168.0.3
subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
default gateway: 192.168.0.1
DHCP server: 192.168.0.1

plz could i have some help

thanks

OK- your basic addressing info looks correct; let's find out exactly where the communication is gettting broken: