Hello,
Please, I need some help if possible. I have setup my Belkin Wireless internet router and all my other laptops and desktop working beautiful! except the ibm thinkpad T40, can Anybody please tell me how to configuire this laptop to disable the internet utility so I can get the windows microsoft to confire to my prefered network which I have set up on the belkin router. The internet it says Iam connected has 98% strength but refuses to access the net, says page not available. I think its the cisco wireless lan adapter pci card which is being configured by the ibm utility I have updated the driver for the cisco wireless card. ipconfigs shows I am connected to Belkin Please help me out what Iam I doing wrong ?
I am a newbie with these IBM thinkpad t40's Appreciate any help in advance, seriously !
I did the disabling in the mac address and find that the cisco card ibm utility overrides everything I am totally lost Please help,

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

If it says your connected at 98%, then it is probably just a DNS resolution problem, if you go into command prompt start->run->cmd and do 'ipconfig /all' what does it return?

You can also try to use 'ping' to see if you can hit the internet by using 4.2.2.1 or 4.2.2.2 (GTE's nameservers). If that works, try using those in the 'DNS' fields in the configuration tool and see if it allows you to use your web browser.

Thanks for helping
I tried what u suggested it comes back with the 4.4.4.1 and 4.4.4.2 as listed as dns servers i dismantled the access ability tool because it would not let windows configure the network but still won't connect to a browser fantastic strength also updated with latest drivers for cisco wireless lan adapter card
Iam starting to wonder if IBM has a problem or conflict with Belkin routers and they are not compatible
also someone asked if I thought maybe corrupt key registry files ?
I also unabled the firewalls and allowed for explorer access in the firewall but to no avail.