can anyone (guru's included, hint, hint!) make a recommendation(s) on a book(s) towards gaining a cne via cna? i'm totally new to novell (aside from longtime enduser), but i'm NOT looking for a 'dummy'/'idiots' style study guide; the meatier the better so long as the material is covered from scratch on up. i'm sure there's many good tombe's for experienced admin's, so getting one all inclusive test prep may be too much to expect, so if a 'starter' book is the way to go so be it, i'm open to, and appreciative of, your suggestions.

also, i'm currently studying for my ccna cert & i expect to setup a network lab within the next 2 or 3 months (due to $$$ considerations). i expect the lab will consist of 2 or 3 cisco 2500 series routers, a switch (or switches), multiple servers, hubs and clients, maybe a network printer, etc. towards that end if you have a recommendation to include any reasonably priced (<$1K) network component into the lab in order to more realistically simulate a novell network environment i would, again, greatly appreciate it (for the record, it's my understanding that Novell is a NOS management environment, not a hardware implementation).

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

well to start with networking, i wouldnt suggest 2500 serries as they are old and out dated, id suggest learning howto do shit on the new 2600 serries, there about as expensive as the 2500 serries used to be.. no hubs fyi ;D. for Novell id suggest buying their student books that they have for their classes i found it highly usefull for when i was learning CNA materials, of course i was a student then ^^. i still have the book. if your going to be studying for CCNA see if you can find someone else who is taking the classes and get the CCNA class material from them.

Back to Novell. its an ok system, it is a NOS it has no real workstation features. its most command line and gui is 100% java and horrid to work with if its not nessary.