Good Day Vb.net geniuses! I would like to ask what is the easiest way to email the data's inside the datagridview? or if possible the whole table :) I searched some tutorials in the web but all of them are quite complicated. Any idea guys?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Probably the easiest is to, use a text file. Have each row on one line of a file with the values, converted to string, comma delimited. Use a .csv extension and the receiver should be able to load it into a spreadsheet. For readability maybe make the first line with column headings. A For Each loop to iterate thourgh the rows, and code to set up the strings for each value, then add a newline to finish the string for that row.

I found this ebook very helpful, it has a chapter on how to send email

@Ancient Dragon - I started learning vb.net with the link you provided and unfortunately there is no topic there regarding emails for datagridview :( I used this basic code to email messages :)

Imports System.Net.Mail

Public Class Form1

Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

End Sub

Private Sub Button1_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Button1.Click
        Dim email As New MailMessage()
        Try
            email.From = New MailAddress("karlcunanan@gmail.com")
            email.To.Add("karlcunanan@yahoo.com")
            email.Subject = "Test Email"
            email.Body = "Sample Message"
            Dim smtp As New SmtpClient("smtp.gmail.com")
            smtp.Port = 587
            smtp.EnableSsl = True
            smtp.Credentials = New System.Net.NetworkCredential("karlcunanan@gmail.com", "asdadsda")
            smtp.Send(email)

Catch ex As Exception

End Try
    End Sub
End Class

Something like this might work. Of course I had to guess that all the values will easily convert to string. If they don't you'll have to add code to allow for that.

Imports System.Net.Mail