I'm not sure how to do this, but i'm making a small shell in C++ in command line, with a few external scripts and executables being called. What I want to do is either make a simple web browser or a way to show web pages in C++, or if anyone can make one, or use a prebuilt small simple one file browser and figure a way to make it open pages. I just don't want to use the users default browser, as well as i want to be able to bundle it with the other files when i want to finish the project... what do you all suggest to go about doing this????

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Here is one of several examples I found with google.

Well... i'm really new to c++ though so i don't quite understand what to do. I've tried to make the code example into a displayhtml.exe , but i don't have that htmlwindow.h that it calls to... and don't know where to get it. uggh. its frusterating. i need more of a simple little walk through just for getting a simple browser running, or something. sorry.

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Creating a web browser, especially in c++, is not an exercise newbies should be attempting.

mmk... i found a stand alone version... small app called K-Meleon that i can call to with an extended attribute for the web page i want. thx anyway.

If you are still interested a few things you could do / should do.

get an XML Parser and treat all pages like XML, since HTML follows a strict coding format (or at least properly built pages do) you could easily build a parser using an XML tool.

Secondly since it is going to be command line i am assuming no reason for graphics, so again it's just a matter of parsing the text and other style/placements

but then you get into the issue of the Styles.