Traditional advertising is really good. I am no expert on all of this, sorry, but I did find this site about NYC Public Relations SNIP companies or bringing your business success. It talked about making your events big and noticeable. I found it interesting, maybe you'll like it.

mkleslie, not sure if you are still tracking this thread. but here is my take. I have extensive experience with online marketing so I think I can shed some light. PPC (Google Adwords, MSN Adcenter, Yahoo Search Marketing) is great if you can get a ROI. If you are going strictly by conversion (i.e. selling a product that costs $50), and your paying $40 per conversion with PPC, then are doing great! Of course there's also optimizing your landing page, building a brand, etc. but we won't get into that.

Another way to traffic is building it organically. This means getting on top of Google for your specific keyword. Please note that this is 100x better than any 'free traffic' offer - I can send you 10,000 visitors from Russia and China and I promise you they won't buy a thing. You can get on top of Google for a keyword by going similar websites to link back to you. You can do this several ways. One is by writing articles that you post on these websites. Another is by contacting webmasters to see if you can link to your website - either for free or for money. There are also many services out there to help you.

I hope I helped, you can PM me if you have specific questions.

I think the best way of advertising my business is link exchange. If we do link exchange from each other then we will get huge links. And I think from that link we will be able to use those links for expanding our own business.

If link exchange works for you, do it, I personally recommend a mix of different tactics to drive traffic to your site and do this long term, not only for one day. This way, you also increase visibility.