Hello All!

I am new to website management, I've endured the mental assault called as 'SEO', and am worse for the wear. From what I can gather, if you've put some research into your keywords/meta tags, your page titles and your site is easy to navigate and includes meta tags and page title words in the body your good to go.

I've started looking at increasing my organic search results for the tags I've used. I understand I'll need back links. I have these through Craigslist ads and from forums, however, I assume that using links from 'other types of sites' will help me to get rated better for google/yahoo searching?

So my question:

How do I properly execute a link exchange? What do I look for (or possibly more importantly) what do I look to stay away from. Also, how to I ensure I can also provide links back? Do I need to have a page reserved for links?

I guess this is all for now.

Thank you,

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

So my question:

How do I properly execute a link exchange? What do I look for (or possibly more importantly) what do I look to stay away from. Also, how to I ensure I can also provide links back? Do I need to have a page reserved for links?

If you are concerned about SEO then you don't want to do reciprocal link exchanges. They don't have any SEO value and may even potentially get you banned if you are considered part of a link farm.

If you want links that have SEO value seek one way incoming links. Ideally they will be from related sites as unrelated links have much less value. Directory submissions are a good place to start but ultimately you will want more valuable links. These are usually obtained by providing quality content that other website considers worth linking to.

What do you look for when swapping links? Look for sites that are in your industry, share a common audience but aren't your direct competitors, and are sites you would like to exchange website traffic with.