Hey everyone,

So here's the deal - I've been pretty into website design for a few years now, and I like to think I'm relatively good at it. Over the years I've had a few people ask me to build websites for them, and I used to do it for free, because A) it was fun, and B) it was a good easy way to build my portfolio and develop the material that (in part) got me accepted to college. Well, now I'm a poor college student, and I'm better than ever at what I do. And now, more people are starting to ask me about developing websites.

So here's my question: What do I charge them? People are always very willing to pay, and as I said, in the past I've done it for free or for something of a small, one-time rate (around $100) in some cases. I'm just wondering what the standard in the industry is, so that I can start making some money doing what I love, and not feel like I'm over-charging for the product (and service) I deliver.

Thanks,
Kyle Wilson

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

An advice from somewhere:

Ask your clients or 'target' clients what they think your work is worth.

- You'd be surprised at how much they value your talent!

If they quoted something smaller and you're actually 'shocked' / 'offended' / 'abhorred!' at the offer, then at least you know what your work ISN'T worth. (Or at least you get the idea of 'minimum' for yourself)

Or you can always browse the job postings at, say webdesignerwall.com, and see how much the companies there are offering for their 'hirees'.

Do not look at 'bidding' job sites because the bidding makes the work dirt-cheap, but they aren't necessarily up to par. And since your confident that your work is good, don't base your rates on the bidding-prices.

I make $32 per hour in most cases and I've made that much for a while, with opportunity to go up in price but have stalled here as I am comfortable here.