I'm designing a project website using ConTEXT, some of my borders, division and other elements are completely out of their places. I tried outputting it to different computers with different size of monitors and of course with different resolutions. I'm no expert when it comes to this but how can i resolve that? How i can properly output my website with the original layout to different computers? So far i only use HTML, CSS and just 1 javascript which only for time and date functions.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for stbuchok

it has little to do with the different computer and more to do with the different resolutions and browsers (or browser versions). Without a site to look at and to know what isn't looking right, it's nest to impossible to say what is wrong.

The following are the possibilities.

1) Browser compactibility problem (includes version of browsers also).

2)Your development machine's pixel size may vary to client's system. For eg., U r using a 1388*720 and the client may be using a lesser one and vice-versa.

3)For your information, Kindly develop your page with a default size of 1024*638. This is best suited for all lower end as well as higher end resolution screens.Instead of 720 I have used 638 because of the exclusion of browser's page on the screen.

Check any of these possibilities.

Hope this helps u.

Have a happy coding.

commented: not an appropriate answer, one should not continue incorrect stereotypes -3

Hi,

try playing with the css file. Set the max-width, and max-height parameters to a desired size in px.

Current standards and best practices suggest that pixels are not an appropriate dimensioning tool for laying out a web page.
a crt uses approx 96 px/inch
an lcd approx 120 p/inch
a current hi-res plaasma, cell phone /tablet approx 267 px/inch
a printer up to 4000 px /inch
depending on the device used to lay out the page, it will appear from vainshingly small, to ridiclously large on different devices