Hey,

I'm no professional at building computers - best I've done is install a PCI TV Card, although I recently purchased an expensive desktop and for some stupid reason I didn't even think about intel core duo/ dual processor but it has a high spec without the matching processor I was wondering is a new dual processor easy to install or should I take it to a shop and let them upgrade it?

p.s. Would lose anything on my desktop software & files if I did get my desktop upgraded

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

more info please ,motherboard make and model number might help people help you with your question .

As caperjack said, more info would be better for us to figure out what to suggest. But it depends on your mohterboard really. If you are running a normal CPU then it may not be compatible with a dual core one. Also depending on the type of your OS also decides whether you loose out on anything else. If u have an OEM OS then u might have to reconsider changing CPU as it becomes void if u do such a system critical change(correct me if i m worng here guys!) You will have to get it reactivated after the upgrade or even worse get another copy.

I d suggest if you dont require your pc to run some fancy applications requirig lots of processing power then y upgrade it anyways? What would you be doing on your dektop though? You might just find the original CPU to be enough....but in any case let us know what CPU u currently have with motherboard specs, OS, also if u dont mind do put the applications or programs u plaanin for the pc.

Regards
Raj

Thanks for the replies guys below i have posted a Rough Specification aswell as the applications i would be using.

Specification:

Motherboard: ACPI x64
CPU: Intel Pentium dual cpu E2180 @2.00 Ghz 1.99Ghz
RAM: 1024MB
Graphics Card: Nvidia eforce 6200 LE
Wattage is 250V

Applications:
Adobe Master Suite Collection CS3:
* Adobe Photoshop® CS3 Extended
* Adobe InDesign® CS3
* Adobe Illustrator® CS3