I have an off the shelf Gateway that recently stopped responding. Powers up, HD and Optical Drives spin up but nothing else. As a self admitted newbie I want to troubleshoot and to repair myself but other than checking connections and looking for possible visible signs of a short or burn, I'm not sure where to start.

Gateway GT5252
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor 4600
320 GB 7200 RPM SATA II Hard Drive
FIC K2BC51 Motherboard with NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Chipset

Any advice would be appreciated
Mac

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

So the machine starts up but you have no video output? no beeps or anything, I'm assuming...

Perhaps you should try reseating the memory to try fixing the video output. Otherwise, try to find a video card, as I'm guessing you're still using the integrated video that came with the motherboard.

I have the same machine with the same problem... i have been scratching my head for about a month now. The problem started when it wouldn't come out of standby mode. I would have to restart it a few times before it would actually complete POST but, When it did start i would get a reset cmos error. I would get past that and everything would work fine until it went into standby or turned off. Well it stayed on for as long as fate would let me and Now it wont start at all, as the original poster described everything powers up but it is just a black screen. I thought it was a failing power supply but hooked up a new one with the same results.

update: just bought a graphics card.......didnt help the cause.
guess i will be buying a motherboard next...:(