Hi

I just joined this forum about a week ago. Let me explain from the outset that I have been around computers since the early 1980's starting with Z80 processors and cassette tapes but only as a mostly self taught keen hobbiest.

I have a rather unusual hardware configuration but until a couple of days ago it has worked like a dream.

My system has undergone several upgrades over the years but I have incorporated a syquest 270M removable cartridge drive into it ever since the original build back in the early 1990's.

I did the latest rebuild a few years ago because I found I was running out of IDE ports. I had heard of tertiary and quaternary ports and discovered that it was possible to use these by configuring them through RAID. Consequently I purchased a Gigabyte RAID motherboard and through trial and error configured the primary master to an LS120 floppy, the primary slave to a CD burner, secondary master to the Syquest SQ270 removable drive and the secondary slave to a DVD burner. The RAID looks after an 80G boot drive that has Win98SE installed and a 300G drive used for data storage.

On boot up the system went through it's paces and then paused with a warning that it couldn't locate the system files and telling me to replace the media and press any key to continue. I would then just press the space bar and it would continue merrily on it's way.

Windows assigned A: to the LS120 floppy, C: to the 80G boot drive, D: was the SQ270 E: was the first partition on the 300G drive, F: the second partition on the 300G and the 2 burners were assigned to the letters I had chosen (I & J).