I recently acquired a Toshiba Tecra 8200 laptop with no operating system. I have tried several times to install Windows XP Pro from a CD but it will not boot up from the CD. The screen says PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable, but the only cable attached is the power cable to AC. It also says PXE-MOF: Exiting Intel PXE ROM. Insert system disc in drive, press any key when ready...

As you can tell, I'm a novice and do not know what to do.

If I do hit any key it just goes back and repeats this message.

Obviously I could sure use your help.

Thank you anyone out there in advance for any assistance you might be able to give.:mrgreen:

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

You will have to enter bios settings and set the machine to boot from cd drive first.

When you turn it on, press del key (maybe it's f2 or f10) while it's booting to enter bios setup menu. There you'll have to navigate and find settings for boot device. That is setting that machine follows to determine where to look first for system. In your case it tries to look on hard disk, while there are no partitions created there (that explains the error message).
Change that setting to cd drive, or whatever it calls it (primary slave, optical... I'm not familiar with exact bios setup layout), save settings and reboot.

Free tip: When you create partition in xp installation program, it is wise to create 2 partitions (say, 30% first : 70% second). Both NTFS.

ok im having some issues with this aswell, when i change the boot sequence in the cmos and then select [c] as the boot device on the multi-boot screen, i get an error, something to do with check cable and then it starts booting up into windows, however it gets as far as saying its preparing my desktop, then after an hour or 2 says windows is low on virtual memory then nothing, i left it like that for a further 6 hours and when i came back it still said the same.

What am i doing wrong??