Hello all:

Im having an odd problem I can't seem to figure out. Before we get started I'm an A+ Certified technician, so my understanding of PC's is fairly good.

So, I have a Toshiba satallite 2435-s255 and it's hard drive had a complete failure. I've purchased a replacement drive for the laptop and installed it. The installation went fine, and the hard drive shows in the bios, so the laptop recognizes it.

Here is my problem. I've put my XP CD into my cd rom ( and my 98, windows 2K, and ME to make sure it wasnt just an odd problem with that one OS ) and no matter what I do, it keeps trying to do a network installation. Ive gone into the bios and changed the boot sequence to:
Cd rom
hard drive
removable device
network boot.
I save and restart and sure enough it starts to repeat...

for realtek RTL9139(x)/8130/810X pci fast ethernet controller vs.12 (010817)
PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
PXE-MOF: Exiting PXE ROM.

Infinately. I then returned to the bios, and completely disabled the netwook boot, and sure enough it does the same thing over and over.

I know the CD rom works, because I was able to install a version of linux to the old broken hard drive right before I changed the hard drive ( some reason linux would install on the destroyed hard drive but not windows ).

No matter what I change in the bios, it wont do anything but boot from a network drive. I also tried to hit F12 during startup, and chose boot from CD rom, and it goes directly into the network installation. Out of curiosity Ive also tried to boot from every option in both the bios and the f12 menu, but every option leads to the same problem. I also returned the bios to factory defaults and yet again, same problem.

I'm fairly fustrated on this and was curious if anyone has ever experienced this same problem/or have any suggestions I haven't tried yet.