Just another vote of agreement.

Even if the repair shop didn't purpously skneetch a stick of your RAM (and yes- that definitely does happen), they may have forgotten to reinstall it or they reinstalled it incorrectly. Open the case to physically verify what you've got in there.

HI.. I didnt send my computer anywhere, I did at one time restore.. and I did change my CD to a new one, with a dvd player..its set in master position. I had 256mb RAM now I show 128? any help on where I could find it? or what happened to it? hehe I have some knowledge of puters, but this has me baffled. :cry: ty Judith

Recommended Answers

All 29 Replies

Hi Judith,

I've split your question off into it's own topic. Piggybacking questions onto a different topic isn't encouraged and may also limit your chances of being answered.

To start things off, I'd suggest you open up the system case and see if there's a RAM module in there which has worked its way loose in the slot. If this has happened, it wouldn't be registering as present.

I'd also ask you to let us know your system specifications. The make and model of your PC, the make and model of your motherboard, what video display is included and so on.......

not sure is this is what u want, but here goes. XP home....Version HP Pavillion 04
mode/PS331-a-ABA XT983
type X86
Authentic AMD 1395 mgz
video..hp mx70 on sa Graphics Pro savage memory 16MB Bios info. 03.3c.23

The HP Pavillion bit is the most helpful. Has it got a model number printed on the case or on an ID sticker on the back?

ok its a pavilion xt983

Hi again. That HP Pavilion was originally fitted with 128Mb of SD-RAM, so another 128Mb module must have been fitted at some stage. Again, I'd suggest you open up the case and verify that a module hasn't worked loose in it's slot. Both modules should be pushed down firmly, and the retaining clips engaged. If one isn't pressed home completely, it won't be registering, and it may have been bumped loose when the drives were changed.