hello everyone, Im a newbie to this site although not to techonology. I'll be visiting to learn, ask, and, hopefully, provide som eanswers and advice. Today, however, I am here with a little problem of my own.

I have a Dell Optiplex GX240 with XP SP2, 2.4 Ghz Celeron, 512 MB SDRAM PC133. The [used]PC came with a 1.7 P4 but I put a [used] Celeron in there from a clients PC iw as working on where the damages were not worth the repair. One of the damages were to the MOBO. So I called myself beign able to cheaply upgrade using teh 2.4 that was availalable. For a few months, however, I've been having problems with my PC freezing at random times. I tested the RAM with Memtest86 and it passed. I reinstalled XP adn still sticking. I am wondering if I have ot give up this CPu and get another?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I've been having problems with my PC freezing at random times.

I think there is a heat sink problem with your CPU. Though I'm not aware but I think celeron's dissipation power is higher than thatof Intel. if it is using a Northwood Core then it must be nearly 75W. Try to keep the cabinet open and work and see if the problem hits again. If so please use some heat conducting gel b/w Heat sink fan and the CPU surface. If all these doesn't solve your prob try rasing ur upper limit of CPU temp a bit. If this time again it happens then you please revert back to older settings and contact the vendor

THanks for the help. I acutally did switcch heat sinks when I put the new processor in. SInce the other was bigger than mine I put it in figuring it wouldneed more since it was faster and , therefore, would get hottter. And yes, when I installed it I first applied thermal gel. SO there are 2 thigns remaining: to raise the temp limit which I need help with because I've never done that or to revert back to the 1.7 which i was on the brink of diong.