I'm new to the Linux game sp please bear with me. I installed Red Hat 8 on my machine running XP pro on Microsoft Virtual PC. The install went pretty ok but I am having problems connecting to the internet. I configured my netwk card both manually and using DHCP but with no success. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Please paste the output of ifconfig so I can see the cirrent configuration for eth0

Example:

root@loaclhost# ifconfig eth0 > ~/ifconfig.txt

Then paste the contents of ifconfig.txt.

Thanks for replying,
I decided to update to update to RH9 and I havent yet configured the network settings, but if I am getting problems, I will post again.

NP :)

I'll be here if you have any more questions...

Please paste the output of ifconfig so I can see the cirrent configuration for eth0

Example:

root@loaclhost# ifconfig eth0 > ~/ifconfig.txt

Then paste the contents of ifconfig.txt.

This is the output of ifconfig

[root@localhost root]# ifconfig eth0

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:03:FF:6C:0F:A5

inet addr:192.168.0.188 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0

UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

RX packets:709 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

TX packets:422 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

collisions:0 txqueuelen:100

RX bytes:109190 (106.6 Kb) TX bytes:53595 (52.3 Kb)

Interrupt:11 Base address:0xa000

Which NIC is installed under MS VirtualPC? Does it have access to the Internet? Is it a shared connection with your system's actual NIC?

The stdout from your ifconfig shows that packets are being sent AND received, with no errors, which makes me think it has to do with MS VirtualPC, rather than your Linux installation. Since I've never used MS VirtualPC, I have no idea how it works, and therefor can't answer your question with the given information. Is it possible to do another Linux install using VMWare on that same machine?