Hi guys, I'm not a Linux newbie, I have been using Backtrack for a few years and now Kali, I've installed and used many other distros and I've come accross many problems and always solved them with no further problems. Today I've just finished re-building an old PC for my step-daughter and started installing Peppermint 4 and I am having problems that I cannot solve. I get to the part where it asks if I want to try peppermint or install, I click install and it begins but it's very slow and not very responsive, I can select my time zone setting, click the option to delete all data and install pepermint and then the screen goes black and stays that way for ages. Next, it loads into peppermint as if I were trying it before installing but it won't let me use the mouse or keyboard so I cant do anything more from there. I am installing from a iso burned to dvd, I did a check on the dvd and everything was fine, nothing corrupted etc. If I try peppermint before installing it will load into peppermint but again very slow and not responsive and if I click "Install Peppermint" the machine crashes.

My machine has an Intel Celeron D, with 512mb RAM and 80gb HDD. This machine worked fine just the other day with a different HDD with Kali Linux installed on it, the HDD that I have put in today was what I used to have in another computer running XP SP3 and there is nothing wrong with this hard disk as I also used this one last week to remove some old files.

So as far as I know my install disk is fine, HDD is fine so maybe a problem with my BIOS? Which I have checked and everything looks fine. I would appreciate any help. Many thanks in advance.

As stated on the Peppermint website, your system is on the limit of being good enough to run the OS. So, that might just be the reason behind your slow issues. You could try an older versions with less requirements.

One thing to check is, of course, the md5sum on the ISO that you downloaded.