Hi,
I recently installed windows xp onto one of my partitions because i was having so much trouble with windows 2000 on my c partition. after carefully backing up all my files i installed xp home edition on partition F. Then afterwards I tried to access my C partition again and it told me that 1 or more of the files were corrupt etc. so i decided to install windows xp over the C partition. that's where my problems start. now I can't access my F partition. My C partition is ok. Question is: Can i delete a partition, if so how, i am ok with loing my files and programs, but obviously i'd rather not. I read the post about windows root>system 32\hal.dll missing, cause that's what's happening on my F partition. I tried to do the chkdsk thingy but it's telling me that my F disc is fine, but it comes up with the hal.dll error. any suggestions? I am a complete newbie, my brother normally fixes these things, but i thought i'd give it a go myself, big mistake, anyway sorry about the long post.
thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

By the way, when i tried to Repair the F disc partition for some reason the only option that came up was for the C partition to be repaired, whay is F not showing in the list?

i read up on some other reasons for this occurring on Microsoft's website and the following info came to light http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314477
apparently the Boot.ini file is missing or invalid
mine reads like this:
[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS\C="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect
C:\CMDCONS\BOOTSECT.DAT="Microsoft Windows Recovery Console" /cmdcons
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect