I Recently Purchased A Refurbished Notebook Computer. It Had Been Updated With A Windows Server 2000 On It.

Recently When I Restarted The Computer, It Stop Loading And The Icons Will Not Load Onto The The Desktop. I Am Not Able To Locate The Icons On The Screen, Nor Will Anything Work In Normal Mode.

In Safe Mode Everything Works And I Can Find All Of The Icons.
I Have Troubleshooted This Problem And Have Been Told That I Need To Uninstall This Os.

I Want To Know How To Completely Uninstall Windows Server 2000 Os... I Do Not Have The Os Cd... I Am Very New To Computers And Would Really Appreciate Some Assistance.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Do you have another OS that you want to install on to the computer? i.e. Windows 2000 or Windows XP ?

Do you have any software where like Partition Magic?

Thank You For Your Quick Reply.

Yes, I Have A Windows Xp Professional That I Would Like To Install.

No I Do Not Have Any Software Like Partition Magic.

What Does This Software Do?, Where Can I Get It? And Most Importantly, Will It Uninstall Windows Server 2000 So That I Can Install Windows Xp Professional?

if you just want to scrap the 2000 os and dont need to worry about it just popin windows xp pro disk and there is a partition manager on it that will allow you to delete your old windows 2k partition.

if you just need to remove the "os" its not exctly ez or possible

Yes, just run the Windows XP setup. Inside the setup, choose to reformat all existing drives. Install Windows XP on the C:\ drive ... Win2000Server should have previously been on C:\

Motion Carried!

Q u i c K Solution : take out ur disk and put it in as slave in another pc (e.g a friends pc) it will become derive D:\ there and format this disk :)
No software required Ha Ha This is how i recover non bootable disks

Lowe
visit me

commented: Idiot - you just awakened a thread from 2003 - that wasnt very bright was it -1

you just awakened a thread from 2003 - that wasnt very bright was it