I have bee assigned the project to create a multi boot disc for our pc's at work. We currently use symantec ghost v7.5.

I am a tech that only know's what he is taught. And all i know is we are given a CD that boots up the PC's that has the necessary drivers for the given PC's. I have never had to create a 'MultiBoot' disc to ghost PC's.

However I just wanted to know, exactly.. what defines a 'MultiBoot' disc?

And also, if anyone can give some recomendation as to what other software that i could try that maybe better.

We here at work normally have a difficulty time ghosting PC's that use Xircomm Network PCMCIA cards. Any suggestions on that would be great also.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

There is a misuse of terms here.
Multiboot means multiple operating systems.

If you are ghosting you are doing a preinstall / reinstall

pcmcia ... I assume you are working on laptops...

You did not mention which OS you are running...

If this is XP it could be a problem...A real problem...

What make and model of laptop...

or do you have a variety of laptops...

What file system are they using or do they want?

I have had success ghosting XP from a Dell laptop to the same make and model Dell laptop...

I had good success with a generic ghost image of 98 , a copy of win98 folder from the cd, folders for any video drivers, modem drivers, sound cards etc... and getting very fast installs. I assume this would work with ME and 2000. But I personally never tried it...

It was also helpful to run a diagnostic after the ghost but prior to the driver installs to identify the actual hardware so I knew which drivers it was going to need. Everest is a good one... Free for home use fee for business use...

So give us a little more information and we will see what can be done to help get you going...

Oh, and the Xircom cards...
Pull them prior to the install... do install everything else,