:?: Sounds straight forward, but I can not figure this out I am new to this. I have a Etower 500 MHz with 192 mb's of memory and 4 gig hard drive. I used partition magic 3.5 to partition the drive in order to try and install DOS and win98 and I also want to install unix or windows 2000.
I am following the instructions from this web site here:
>> http://www.xperts.co.za/multi-boot/ I am using the disks that I made from downloading from this site referring to REUEL Boot disk this disk took me through the entire process. It all went great until I rebooted and I keep getting Non-System disk or disk error I have no disk's in the drives. I even installed win98 and all it did was go straight to windows. With in windows I could see the drives I partitioned all of them except the one that windows was actually on. I have done this again and again trying to see if I did anything wrong. Anybody know what is wrong?
Also can anyone tell me how to get free dos I can not figure out what files to download. The one that I am trying to install now is suppose to be mini dos 6.22. I am really new to dos so I am doing a lot of guessing. :cry: :-|

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Greetings,

I'll be the first one to mention, I'm not a expert in Dual Booting, since I use VMWare installed on the same system. =P

I would suggest maybe gettin' a dual boot program (Google it) to make your options easier, and if your planning on installin' Linux (Unix) it has it's own verstile boot manager. Usually GRUB, or LILO and should be able to pick up your different "Boot up selection."

Just my thoughts,
Alistair

First thing I'd like to ask you is if you're sure you want to put this all on a 4GB HDD? I installed Win98Se and Win2K on a 4.3GB along with some anti-virus software and that alone used about a third of my drive.

I can't help you much with the DOS part -- never did use it much and I don't know when it should be installed in a multi-boot configuration.