Win 7 64

Hi, this problem began when my computer/program crashed while running frets on fire.

After reboot I got a message that mscorwks.dll could not be laoded so I ran
sfc /scannow

but this did not fix it so I used takeown to take ownership of the entire folder and subfolders and deleted it and replace them with copies of the files from a fresh install (.net sp1 and sp2 files as well).

I then reinstalled frets on fire but the program is still running slow.

Anyone know what the problem is here and how to fix it?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Win 7 64

hi,did it ever run fast

Win 7 64

Hi, this problem began when my computer/program crashed while running frets on fire.

After reboot I got a message that mscorwks.dll could not be laoded so I ran
sfc /scannow

but this did not fix it so I used takeown to take ownership of the entire folder and subfolders and deleted it and replace them with copies of the files from a fresh install (.net sp1 and sp2 files as well).

If you're fearing that .NET is your culprit, might I suggest using the cleanup tool and re-installing it. :)

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=7A4EFC33-0343-4EE4-B0C4-97BD16967A09&displaylang=en

Thing is because I use Win 7 64 it won't let me reinstall as such, hence why I installed .net 2.0 on a virtual machine and then moved the files over. Today I even copied the .NET registry files and imported them in.

If you're fearing that .NET is your culprit, might I suggest using the cleanup tool and re-installing it. :)

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=7A4EFC33-0343-4EE4-B0C4-97BD16967A09&displaylang=en

@caperjack: I think its fairly obvious that the program in question did run faster before this incident.

@caperjack: "I think its fairly obvious that the program in question did run faster before this incident."
I didn't think it was or is obvious as you neglected to make any statement to indicate it either way.