Well, I'm an IT professional in my first real IT job. Unfortunatly I've come across this problem that I don't know how to solve.

We have a computer where we have all of our shared files located on a seperate drive called the F drive. Which there is 215GB of space on that drive so I'm all set there.
But noticing the C drive (which is only around 5gb of space running Windows 2000) it goes down every few days 15-20 MB. Normally I wouldn't notice but recently it's gotten to a point where the C drive has gotten to less than a Gig of space and its throwing errors and acting all funny.

I've gone through and freed up some of the space on it. (Deleting old unused files, moving programs to a seperate drive etc) but it obviously isn't a perminate fix. I know that symantec endpoint takes up a lot of space on the C drive but I've still knocked it down to the bare minimum on the C drive and it's still mysteriously loosing space.

Has anyone else ever noticed this problem on any computer? If so, what did you do to solve this issue?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

What are the new files and to what folder are they being placed? If you want to find out just do an advanced search with the date created set to a point where you last cleaned up the hdd. leave the keyword space blank and search the hdd.

You need to delete the old volume shadow copies + restore points i think
Also log files + hotfix backups, especially if using WSUS

Use a) disk cleanup b) a program called CCLeaner and c) a program called ATF Cleaner

Try and track down where the space is going, you can either do this manually by going to my computers> C: using right-click> properties to see the file size, then when you figure out which folder is the culprit follow the same procedure down the file system until you find the files.

There are also programs that will let you see the folder sizes of all your folders, check out http://foldersize.sourceforge.net/