0

WD-TV-Live4Permissions4network16network23 I have Western Digital TV Live that plugs into my TV and also into my 1TB external HD. I have attached four pictures to help with what I'M confused and having trouble with. Take a look at my network1.png, notice that the device is listed in two places, one big icon in the right area and one small icon listed to the lower left havigation panel. When I lick on the big WDTVLive icon in the right area I get the web page you see in WD-TV-Live.png but when I click the one to the lower left I get what you see in network2.png, it's let's me right in without a poblem. How can one icon a secure and want a password(that by the way I don't remember ever creating for the WD device or my external 1TB HD) and the other icon let me right in? And since anyone can navigate right in using the icon listed on the left navigation panel of windows exporer, anyone in the house could potentially delete the movies, not just watch them. So I decided to plug the 1TB drive into my computer and set permissions so that noone else could have write permissions, only read. Now I'M more use to Linux permissions rwx for user, group, and other/everyone else. So I don't really know what I"M doing. Please take a look at Permissions.png and tell me why there isn't others or everyone else listed from which I might remove write access. And when I way I want to remove write access that would only be to the movies folder, not the whole device. I know the WD has to have write access to the device it'self for it's videos DB and whatever else it need. Thanks for any and all help.

Edited by lewashby: The Browse button for uploading does not appear when you click the "files" button but instead you have to post your article and the do an edit on the article in order to get the browse button to show up. Please fix this!

2
Contributors
1
Reply
2
Views
4 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by JorgeM
0

So if the device is plugged directly into your computer, and your computer recognizes it as a drive, the permissions you assign in the security tab will only apply to users that are interactively logged onto the computer. Even if you change the permissions, they are not going to "stick" once you unplug it and place it back on the network.

Keep in mind that this device is not a windows device, probably running some sort of Linux so when its on the network, I assume that you manage it via a browser interface and secure the permission using the web interface.

This topic has been dead for over six months. Start a new discussion instead.
Have something to contribute to this discussion? Please be thoughtful, detailed and courteous, and be sure to adhere to our posting rules.