Will the console prompt ever support unix commands Like in the Apple Terminal?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hi

Are you referring to commands such as ls, pwd etc. on a windows command prompt? If so, I doubt it. But if you want that functionality and more in a native Windows environment, you could give cygwin a go.

Otherwise, I may have misunderstood your question.

HTH

Hi djjeavons thanks for the answer. Cygwin seems to do the trick, I'll have a look at it. But I was just pondering if Windows 8..10 could or would do the same for the console app, so I that I don't have to install something else.

I'm no expert, but Mac I belive is a port of BSD which is a unix like kernel where as the Command Prompt in Windows is purely Microsoft. I don't see why they would want to incorporate unix like commands.

There is of course PowerShell which gives you some form of scripting ability like you have in unix like systems.

What I've done is install unix commands to CMD, i think the packet is called gnu commands for windows or something similiar, and as far as I remember I actually made a post about it in the geeks lounge some time ago(I am a terminal kind of guy, that pack came as a miracle to me for those times when I have to go to windows)

Although cygwin is the ultimate solution so to speak, I've been trying to avoid it

EDIT: Found the link Click Here

On Windows systems, Cygwin provides a Linux-type command environment with all the usual tools, including GCC compilers, bash shell, c-shell, and such. It works very well. I used to use its xorg X-Windows server in order to run X applications on remote servers that I had connected to with ssh or Putty (using the -X option to forward X-Windows protocol messages to Cygwin).

OK guys, thank you all again. I know I can install a tool to simulate the "vi" editor etc. But, why can it not be incorporated in the command prompt, or is this not possible?