I own a Sony Vaio VGN-N150G, and I have had this problem for about a week now. I can use Mozilla Firefox without a problem, but I cannot use any messaging services such as AIM. When I try configuring, it says it was unable to connect. When I try using Windows Live Messenger, it says that there is something wrong with my default gateway. In other words, I think it's telling me that it can't detect my internect connection. I can surf the web no problem on Mozilla Firefox...but for some reason any of those other programs have a difficulty. Not only messaging programs but Norton 360 freezes up when I attempt to clean up my computer using the internet connection. It's really bizarre, and it happens anywhere I am on campus (I'm a college student) and it happens when I'm at home, too. Therefore, no matter which wireless internet I am connected to, I can't use any programs that deal with the internet. I've tried what seems like everything, and I can't figure it out.

I have been searching the web for an answer, and I saw something about using IPCONFIG/ALL in the Run..program thing. So, I'm going to copy and paste my results to hopefully make this easier, because I assume you're going to ask me for that.

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Nicole Dix>IPCONFIG/ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : VALUED-11599CE5
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nmu.edu

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Eth
ernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-13-A9-4C-D2-E2

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nmu.edu