Hi all,

I have a small network at home (one old desktop, two laptops), running off a wireless-enabled ADSL router.

I work as a webdesigner and what I would like to do is to convert the desktop into a linux-based web-server (running Apache, MySQL, PHP) to use for testing, only visible on my internal network.

Could someone offer some advice on how to set this up?

The easiest solution I can think of is to let the router handle the internet access as per usual and to access the testing webserver via its internal IP address but I was wondering whether I can/should use the linux box as a proxy/gateway to the internet proper...

I'm not too experienced in these matters, any advice would be welcome.

Thanks - Nils.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

If you want to let just set up and internal network and access one of the servers for web hosting to the other two, then the network side should not be too difficult.

If your talking about getting your web server available to the internet, therefore running your own world wide web hosting, I think your going to be asking for a lot of difficulty. unless there is a service somewhere that sorts this out for you, your going to have to get static IPs from a ISP, probably a better router that requires configuration to route web requests to your server. This has to be measured against bandwidth issues as well. i wouldn't have a clue how to start a project like that, let alone the guts, (or should I say money) to try and make it happen.

I wasn't too sure if that was what you were asking, so .......

Hi,

thanks for the reply. I don't want the webserver to be globally visible - only to other computers on the home network.

- Nils.

Hi,

You may use the linux box, with 2 network cards in it, to be your gateway to the internet world.