fskreuz 0 Newbie Poster

Hi to all! it's my first time to post under the networking category since i'm really on the programming side so pls. bear with my ignorance. I'm just tasked to create a network with a very little understanding of it so here goes:

i need to set up a small office network that does this:

- everything is managed by a server, the user accounts, the access restrictions, the internet access, file sharing and storage(1 server computer only)

- user accounts are on the server (no local accounts except the "hidden admin" in windows) and there are initially 3 accounts: one for the Boss account, one for employee account, and another for the visitor account

Think of this part as a mini cloud network. nothing on the stations, all in the server. but we can still use the station storage and the software is still on the stations.

- manage net access at certain times for the stations (block facebook except after work hours and on breaks)

- totally block certain websites on the wifi end of the router (fear of bandwidth hogging if someone streams over the connection) but the wifi should be bright as day (full access) when the boss uses his laptop and goes wifi using the default windows setting (no fiddling with his laptop)

the equipment we're given is:
- 3 swtiches
- 1 router with 1 LAN port only but with wifi. has firewall and blockers
- 1 server PC (server 2003 enterprise)
- several work stations (mixed winXP, win7, ubuntu you name it) in static ip
- net access

currently we have this layout:
net -> router -> switches -> stations
in which if diagrammed should look like a tree, the net comming from the leaves and down the trunk to a router then spread throughout the office using switches towards the stations like roots. the server is in line with the stations (one of those root tips)

what we did:
- url blocker using the router
- set up a domain for the office for the network drives
- DNS of stations pointing to the server PC