Hello.

I know what's a DNS/NAme server/etc. I read a step-by-step guide here:
SNIP

as I wanted to setup Intranet. I'm 16, a beginner. I want to know what's actually meant by nameservers.

I mean when my host says: "Set your domain names to ns1.host.tld ns2.host.tld or 123.x.x.x and 123.y.y.y" and suppose I only mention ns1... ns2... in my domain's name servers text fields: how does ns1... and ns2.... link my domain to their IP?

I know it must be fetching IP from DNS Records (iCANN and stuff). But, the thing is. ns1.host.tld is NOT a website, then how does it link my site with corresponding IP of server (123.123.123.123) ?

Most importantly, If I got a FREE DNS for my PC (an IP). How do I create this ns1.mypc.com thing? and knowing its not a domain!

I just roughly wanna try to be a web host. I mean, how its like.

Thank you.
Please be as informative & simple as possible :-) since I'm a beginner.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

NOTE: This is when I'm using WAMP / Apache+PHP+mySQL installed on my Windows PC

Please help as i need to know this. In a nutshell, If i get a static ip from say dyndns.com and host my website on my pc, i'll need to set my domain's name servers to what since i got a static ip. But i need something like ns.domain.com

thanks

Hey, you need to do a few things....

1. Get a static IP from your ISP (dyndns might be a way around this) but thats a whole lot of other stuff.
2. Get your websites DNS records updated so that your domain name (www.yourwebsite.com) is pointing at the IP address you got from your ISP
3. On your router you need to add a NAT rule, so that any traffic coming to your router requesting your website is re-directed to the PC that you have your website on.