I am not a techie but some people ask me to do things anyway, so please bear with me.

As an example let's say that the main part of a website resides on a third-party server but there are links within some of the pages that refer to an hard-coded address pointing to a static IP (assigned by ISP) hosted on a private local machine.

This is all well and good with the router at the private location, using port-forwarding, etc. But what if someone using a wireless laptop signs on to the domain from within the LAN of that router? Then the hard-coded address points to the WAN of the router...this does not work. The router requires use of a local subnet address.

Please note that the static IP address is not associated with a domain name and may not ever be.

The router is a NETGEAR MR814v2 attached to the Internet via a Paradyne ADSL modem setup as a bridge.

I would have thought that this situation would not be particularly unique and that there may even be a "name" for such a router "feature". Again, I'm not a networking person so this could all be bogus anyway.

Thanx..............

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

I'm not fully understanding your concern.

Are you afraid that if another machine connects to your router, that the port forwarding needed for your private server will point to it rather than the intended machine? This is possible, but you can prevent it from happening. You will want to make sure that only the machine that you use as a private server can be assigned the IP address that the port is being forwarded to. This feature is called "Address Reservation" on your router. You will need to put in the IP address you want to use for that machine, the MAC address of the machine (you can find this in the Attached Devices menu), and click apply. After you set that up, reboot your private server machine just to make sure that everything works properly.