Hello- I am an IT student starting a project paper. Could any of you proffesional aministrators give me some ideas on a basic design for this scenario?

I am building a LAN for a staffing agency on a Server 2008 R2 platform. It is a small business with 50 workstations split into 2 subnets. I'm thinking a couple of DC's also running DHCP/DNS/VPN with a WSUS server and an application server running some ERP software. Also maybe a copy of IIS on a server for the website?

I do not know where to start as far as getting the internal network secure. A DMZ possibly and how that look on a network map? A layer three switch to add 4 branch offices later a create a VLAN maybe? Any ideas on the best hardware to use?

Any ideas or suggestions of how this little LAN would look would be highly appreciated. I have no hands-on experience; I have been studying networking but I am a complete novice when it comes to the real world. I could be totally missing the whole thing. If so set me straight and tell me the best solution; it must be a Windows network however

Thanks- jwelch1

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

So, you would like us to do your paper for you? Do we get credit for that? Please, even if you have no hands-on experience, you should have the theoretical underpinnings well enough in-hand at this point to do the work. That is the point, isn't it? To use your brain to work out the scenarios as well as you can, and then let the professor grade you on your work, which will help you learn where you went wrong. If we give you all the answers, then what DO you learn? As far as I'm concerned, that is simple cheating!