hello. thanx for reading. im new at this....ok. i turn my laptop on to search for available wireless networks. one is found to be unsecure and can connect to network.connects. i lauch a browser (explorer and firefox) reads: the page cannot be displayed.....any ideas? ive gotten on the internet in a different location using the same method but cant get it here...im confused because the status shows that i have a connection...is it my browser settings...iv read somewhere about ip address' begining w/ 192.168.25 (which is the address i get) arent real or something for protection...any ideas! thanx a bunch! niik

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Hi niik, welcome to DaniWeb :)

I can think of at least a couple of reasons that you can't reach Internet sites through that connection:

1. The network is not secured with encryption or a password, but Internet access is controlled by a proxy server on the network... good luck hacking past that.

2. The DHCP server on the network is assigning your computer a valid IP, but isn't passing you DNS server IPs. You can verify this by doing these steps while connected to the network in question:

* Try reaching a site by its actual IP address instead of its URL. For example, open a browser and enter the following in the address/location bar:
http://66.102.7.99
If that takes you to Google, chances are pretty good that you've got a DNS problem.

* Click on the "Run..." option in your Start menu. In the "Open:" box of the resulting window, type "cmd" (omit the quotes) and hit Enter. This will bring up a DOS window.
At the DOS prompt, type the following commands, hit Enter after each, and tell us the results for each command (if DNS is working properly, you should receive 4 positive responses from Google, followed by some summary info):

ping 66.102.7.99
ping www.google.com