I'm on a short budget and have never been into PC gaming so I have little knowledge on graphic cards and so on...

I'd like to be able to run recent titles with graphics quality similar to those that have appeared on the ps3, on a smaller budget (if it would be possible at all?)

Here's a laptop I've found, will this be able to run any recent games and how well would it run them?
http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/hp-pavilion-g6-1325ea-15-6-laptop-red-11884755-pdt.html

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Hi there asif49, I would say you can play older games on that alright. The graphics card is not that powerful and most likely won't play games released after 2010. My partner has a similar unit and it is totally unable to play even Diablo III, which isn't terribly demanding. I'd advise you to invest in a desktop if performance is what you are after. Decent gaming laptops are expensive (Alienware, Toshiba) and not really worth the asking in my opinion as they are prone to overheating and other hardware issues, in my experience at least (I've owned three). If you must buy a laptop for gaming and your budget is circa £400 I'd shop around a bit more. At all costs though, avoid Integrated intel® HD Graphics cards. Just had a quick search for you there, really you'd be looking at £800 + to get a decent gaming laptop I'm afraid, unless someone else here can find you one - but I couldn't. Sorry, I know that is not really that helpful. . .

Even this one here:
http://www.currys.co.uk/gbuk/toshiba-satellite-p850-12x-15-6-laptop-silver-12520766-pdt.html

Wouldn't play modern games on High. Here is a very useful site for checking the performance of a laptops GPU:
http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GT-630M.63761.0.html

It's pretty technical but you can scroll to near halfway and a list of games appears, along with the FPS (Frames Per Second) statistic relative to graphics quality. Anything below the 30 FPS means you'll experience stuttering/performance issues.