Hi everyone, this may be very out of place, but I'm a marketing student interested in going into sales for an IT company after I graduate and was told that I definitely need to have technical understanding of key IT technologies. Further more, this is an area that I'm very interested in and may want to pursue further in the future

My goal is to get start off with a good foundation in a limited number of the most important softwares/technologies used by medium to large sized companies and was wondering what would be the 8 most important programs/skills to learn? I'm also thinking of getting some certificates, though I know that most certificate courses don't really give you substantial training. So far someone has given me this list of important programs, what do you guys think?

Virtualisation (VMWare, Microsoft Virtual Server, Platespin, Vizioncore )
Continuous Data Protection (Symantec, Doubletake, Neverfail, CA etc)
Storage Area Networking (Dell, HP, IBM, NetApp)
Network Management (Cisco, Juniper, Netcordia, 3Com, HP etc)
Server Computing (IBM, HP, Dell), and
Server Software (Windows 2008 Server, Vista, Exchange Server etc)

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Well, what you need to know depends on what you're selling. My brother's in this field and he didn't enter with any particular kind of IT-specific knowledge, but he's definitely learned some things. That list looks very reasonable, the parts outside the parentheses, based on my conversations with him. I don't know anything about the brand names though.

Thanks, yeah I agree, there are so many different companies that use a different mixture of the technologies, definitely need to be selective.

With that aside however, I was wondering how I should start off, just for the pure intent of getting a good handle on key IT technologies, what would be some good starting points and key systems to go after?
Would Cysco and Oracle be good software to pursue?