I'm a 30 year old full time worker trying to learn programming late in life. I just wanted to know what programming language is the best to start learning. And is it best to get a degree or home school?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I started programming at 35, 5 years ago. There will no doubt be many different opinions regarding which language to start with but I'll suggest Java. In saying that, once you understand one, picking up other languages will not be as daunting as you would think. As for learning on your own or getting a degree (or diploma), I think a school setting is best and it makes you more hireable than saying "I learnt this on my own".

My 2 pennies.

Hi Marc 2 welcom here!
I don't know what the best computer language is.
But have a look on this site under Software Development or Web Development for languages where most members here talk about.
To find out what the most popular laguages are, have a look at this site.
Try out a language you feel confortable with.

It really depends on the things that you are wanting to do. Programming in general is a very broad subject.

If you are into web development then it might be an idea to choose something small, such as HTML.before tackling more dynamic and sophisticated languages such as PHP.

If your into hardware languages, complex systems that power intensive calculations and processes then might be an idea to take the C/C++ line.

I personally find that to get a grasp on both types of environments, python is an ideal candidate. The syntax is also very simple to understand and get to terms with it as this is one of the main reasons the language is being taught to children. Once again, it totally depends on your interests