What programing language should I learn first? I'm a beginner B.Tec 1st Year student.

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

Python is a solid first choice, it's really easy to get up and running, it's very sensibly designed and has plenty of libraries to choose from when you start doing more advanced things.

I would start with C.

I agree with pty. Python is a great first choice. That's why many schools/universities are using it as a first language. You chould learn C but I would wait until you have a grounding in programming fundamentals. There are gotchas in every language, but the ones in c are harder to get your mind around until you understand the basics.

If you have any of the MS Office products installed (especially Excel), you could experiment with VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) immediately.
It's a fairly safe environment where you can understand how code flows and the use of functions and classes without needing to understand operating system quirks.

Python is HOT now. Ruby (core Ruby) is good (and logical). C is an education in what's really going on without having to go to assembly language.

I get paid to program in C#, however (by choice).

commented: I do C# as a hobby, love it! +0

Definitely python the options are endless, machine learning is the future so best choice will be python!

If you are doing a B. Tech. then doesn't that include some element of programming? In which case what language does the first such class use?

Python will teach you to write a readable code also because the program code syntax is based on deviations

@AndrisP:

also because the program code syntax is based on deviations

also is not needed here (make that error very often also) :)
What do you mean by deviations?
Statistics: standard deviation?
Or: derivation, which could be a math derivative or a term for inheritance.