I'm currently a 4th-year CS major. This is not to say I took many CS courses, but I still need to take classes on Operating Systems, System programming, S/W Engineering, AI, Database, etc. So, far, my programming skills are pretty trivial. I know C++/Java but can only write simple trivial programs and a basic knowledge of data structure (i.e. how it works but not the coding part). I have no job experience at all in the computer field (not even a freelance entry-level programmer). The web development I've done are webdesigning on Marcomedia Dreamweaver, Fireworks, Flash, and some webscripting PHP (heck, this is even related to CS). Little knowledge of networking, operating system (never used linux before). That's about how far I am with CS for a 4th year student. :(

Looking at the job prospect, I do see many S/W Engineering, C/C++ Unix, and similar computer positions in my area (southern California) searching monster.com and other big job sites. However, most of the requirements include 3-5+ years of programming experience, using industry tools that I've tried to learn 3 years ago but now became obslete, experience developing huge application. I do not have Windows API (MFC), C#, .NET, SQL, experience and do not want to waste my time learning it, only to realize it's going to change in a few years from now. Or the company I'm trying to learn it for will no longer use it. Plus, I see many Sr. Software Engineer position. Senior? What? Did they took all the entry-level to India or something?

It's not too late though, I've thought of maybe changing my major to Statisics with emphasis in statistical computing and a minor in CS. This is the description in my catalog for the Stats major w/ emphasis in statistical computing:

Quote:
Emphasis in Statistical Computing