what is a good program to write HTML in?

i am looking at Note Pad ++ right now since i will need it for lau soon but i would like some opions here first.

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

A lot of the guys at my shop use Notepad++ but I started my programming in VI so I use gvim for windows. It's customizable(color schemes, code highlight, spell check) and does what I need it to do. There is also Ultra Edit and eclipse.

A good practice for learning HTML would be to use Notepad, or any other plain text editor, code highlight helps, but auto complete hurts the beginners. It's good practice to know what your doing, so you can do it encase you don't have all your tools available. If you're dependent on the auto complete, then you're helpless without your tool.

I know eclipse but when I started learning HTML I used notepad, I think it really helps you well to learn as a beginner. I suggest you don't get dependable upon auto complete. Use simple notepad and learn HTML effectively!

Latest version of HTML is HTML5 that include all feature of HTML.

since i was beginner i started from dreamweaver its the best application for editing and playing with HTML but its bit costly .so you can go with notepad++ ...very good editor .i had heard about it !sry i dont have any exp in working on it.!

Try HTML-KIT its a cool program for writing html code, it even helps by writing some of the code for you when you type a tag just like a query.

if you want to learn html really then use notepad or notepad++ (for tag highlighting). but dont use the tools like microsoft web developer or eclipse or RAD.
------Tirtharaj

Member Avatar for tawes01

I use notepad normally. But I am in the process of writing an HTML program in C++; I also often will write HTML... with pencil and paper. Obviously I type it up later, but it's fun to do it without a computer.

commented: Now that's awesome :D +1