I need to know what to get. I know the basics but i am new to this (considering i own a Dell) and i need som opinions.
I am thinking of either a RADEON X800 PRO 256MB AGP or a RADEON X800 XT PLATINUM 256MB AGP for my video card. :?: what kind of processor, mother board ect. do i need to get.

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

>what kind of processor, mother board ect. do i need to get.
It really depends. The processor and motherboard should be made for each other, such as an AMD motherboard with an AMD CPU. The motherboard depends on the case that you want. If you get a small case then your motherboard choices are limited but if you get a standard size case then most motherboards will fit it. So start looking at cases to get a good idea of sizing and type issues, then look into what you want to do with the computer. From there you can work out power and cooling issues and you'll have a much clearer understanding of what hardware you need.

Most importantly, make sure everything is compatible. Also keep in mind that high performance hardware tends to have costly requirements (such as memory). If you're on a tight budget then the latest and greatest may not be best for you.

Were is a good place to look for cases?

Just about any store that sells computer parts will offer several different form factors. Or you could search the web for computer cases to see what your options are. As for specific brands, I'm partial to Lian Li.

there a so many freaking cases i am going out of my mind. HELP!!!!! :eek:

Don't worry as much about the style as the form factor. That's what effects your choice of components. For example, if you want one of those cute mini-ATX form factor cases then your motherboard choice is more limited than if you chose a mini-tower or a tower.

Well new question what cpu would be the best to get for gaming im looking to spend around $400