Ok. I've been using computers for 23 years, even have a small
computer repair service that I run on the side but I have NEVER
run across this particular circumstance before.

All my media plays toooo fast. Almost sounds like chipmunks.
I don't have access to the internals of this pc and don't really know much
about it. I have limited permissions on it. It's running win2kpro but I don't
think that really has much to do with it.

It even plays streaming media too fast causing gaps. *shrug*

As I said.. I dont' have any permissions on this machine.. just wondering if anyone
has had experience with something like this before? I'm guessing
that it's been overclocked through the bios via software and that
the pci bus is a bit fast..... My impression though is that the
soundcard is supposed to compensate for this.
Could it just be a really cheap cheap soundcard or something???

Personally I don't know. Heheh

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

First thing I'd check is running a different media player. Have you tried that?
Personal favorite at the moment is foobar2000. Created by one of the Winamp makers. His goal was the best sound using the least amount of RAM. Also, it can be configured more than almost any other.
Not much to look at, but sounds great.
Outside of that, I'm stumped.

Member Avatar for szukalski

Onboard sound controller? I'd try plug and playing it if you can (with limited permissions).
We've gotten that issue at work before with the Realtek AC'97 controller and p'n'p'ing it seems to fix the problem.

Maybe there is some setting in the application that refers to "dubbing" i don't actually think there is, but if you ever see like "high speed dubbing" or some shit like that, turn it to the other option.

guess on that note, I should have pointed out that if you see a 'make sound bad' radio button .... uncheck it

it could be a codec thing, try reinstalling mp3/wma/divx/xvid codecs? what media payer is is playing in