Hi guys,

Recently, my mainboard became faulty and I sent it for a replacement. When the board came back, i fix back my AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ cpu and i applied a new coat of thermal compound. I then installed the game Borderlands and my PC kept turning itself off. So i suspected it could be my processor overheating. I reapplied another coat of thermal compound, this time a thinner layer and my PC stills run hot at 50-60 degrees when idling. Therefore, I went to purchase a reputable thermal compound, Gellid GC Extreme and applied. Thank god the temp became 49 to 52 degrees at idle. However, when I started playing borderlands, the temperatures shoots up to a whooping 73 degrees. From what I know(if i'm not wrong), my CPU max temp is 65 degrees so I am realli afraid I would burn my CPU. I did not overclock.

Pls advise. Is 73 degrees too hot for my CPU? If it is, what is wrong and what can I do? Possible that the CPU is faulty thus resulting in the increase in temp? Or is it the way i applied my thermal compound or its time i change my CPU heatsink?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

There could be lots of reason for the overheat. But YES 73 degrees is very hot for your processor and it is highly advisable not to run your computer at those temperatures.

Anyways to find out what is the problem, open up your case and see if all the system fans are working and record the speed of those fans. Also check whats the speed of the cpu fan. Maybe the cpu fan is not spinning fast enough to cool your processor. So also check the cpu fan speed.

You can find speeds of the fans by going into bios or by running a program like everest ultimate.

And yes it could also mean you didn't apply the thermal paste correctly. Did you clean the procesor of the older paste before applying the new one?

Following is one of the most reliable thermal compound:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835100007