Hi all,

I guess this is a pretty basic question about an old motherboard but anyway...

The motherboard is a P4i65G.

What I'd like to know is about POST info.
Should I see a BIOS screen if a motherboard is OK?
Or do I need to hit the DEL button?

I'm really new to learning about PC's and despite 'googling' the above question I can't get any answers...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
OwenBear

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

When you first boot the pc you will generally get either a screen with the mobo manufacturers info/specs, or a pre-start checklist type of thing.
To go into the BIOS one generally taps the delete key on the keyboard immediately after hitting the power button.

i thing if the bios is set to quick boot it will not show all the boot screen info ,you can disable the quick/fast boot in the bios or ,most older board will show it if you hit the tab key at some point on bootup

Sorry all, I guess I asked the wrong question and didn't make myself too clear.

At the moment I'm trying to work out if the above Motherboard is still working.
A while back I got an Nvidia 7600Gs 256Mb ddr3 gfx card and a 1Gb ddr400 memory stick and when I put them in the motherboard the PC failed.

I was then given an old P4 asus p4b533Vm abd installed the gfx, memory and HDD into that and it works fine.

Since then I found out about resetting the CMOS jumpers.

Anyway, I'm trying to get the AsRock p4i65g mobo to work again which is why I was asking about the POST info.

Currently the AsRock P4i65g mobo has a P4 2.3ghz celeron fitted, well, all thats missing from the motherboard is memory, HDD, CMOS battery and GFX card.

What I want to know is should I see any info when I turn it on when it's connected to a monitor?

When i switch it on after resetting the CMOS jumper, the CPU and power fans both work as does the LED on the front of the case.
What I'm basically looking for is the BIOS screen - what parts do I need fitted into the motherboard to see this?