I wanna make a stand alone linux computer. To bad I have 3rd hand technology. I'll give you the specs for a comp i wanna put linux on. Gimme a sugestion of what distro I should use. Note: I am a Linux newbie.. you can even ask Dani!

Pentium 83mHz
4 Gig Hard Drive
i think its a 2x cd drive
nothing else to note really

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

for an 83? linux 1.0

HAHA! no. I think it could even run a GUI, right? anyone back me up here.

of course! telnet!

There are distributions specificially for old / slower pcs. Try one of the light footprint distros out there. You can fit an entire linux system in less than 50 mb.

how good is your kungfu? if you're feeling up to it, install gentoo. http://www.gentoo.org/

you will have to build the entire system as the only pre-built distributions of it are for i686+, but it is one of the lightest distributions, it is completely customizeable and.. its great stuff.

you could always fall back on a BSD variant like FreeBSD or NetBSD. they also have a small installation base. Either way, just because it comes on a cd, doesnt mean you have to install everything.

good luck, and may the shwartz be with you.

From my experience, FreeBSD is really nice but hard to configure for many newbies (e.g. like Slackware or Debian)

Tek, did you ever get a distribution on that box of yours?

Pentium 83MHz - if memory serves me correctly thats an upgrade from an x486 chipset, which means ur runnin a 16bit bus. dependin on how much RAM ur runnin - & how its paired - u can at least run the Win95 gui, probably right on up to WinME if u shud care to, so i'm sure itll run a unix flavr on it w/no probs relating to cpu. 4 GB is plenty, the rest just might matter. sound like u got nothin to lose - amazin how much frustratin tech can teach ya! - & u can alwys f-disk (in Linux 2?), so pick a free distro if u dont have any reasons 4 a particular distro. me, i'm goin redhat sometime b4 the yr 2525 :!: